Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

Kenneth A. Rowe Ambassador of Aviation Award

In 1994, the Board of Directors of the National Association of State Aviation Officials established the Kenneth A. Rowe Ambassador of Aviation Award. This award shall be presented in the name of Kenneth A. Rowe to honor State Aviation directors who embody their spirit, optimism, and fierce pride in the capabilities of the state aviation agencies. The recipient will receive the award at the NASAO Annual Convention & Trade Show.

2018 Kenneth A. Rowe Award


The Kenneth A. Rowe Ambassador of Aviation Award is open to any director of a state aviation agency or to a director that has retired or left office in good standing within the last two years. Nominations must be made by a state aviation director or the NASAO Washington staff.

Previous nominees may be renominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • An Executive Summary prepared by the person making the nomination describing the nominee’s contribution that qualifies the individual for consideration.
  • A current résumé of the individual.
  • Supporting documents, not to exceed 5 pages, double-spaced. Please do not send videos, books, etc.


Upon unanimous consent of the NASAO Board of Directors, this award shall be presented in the name of Kenneth A. Rowe to individuals who embody his spirit, optimism, and fierce pride in the capabilities of state aviation agencies.


1994 Kenneth Rowe (Virginia) 1994 Michael Ferguson (Montana)
1997 Lloyd Parr (Missouri)
1999 Elizabeth Johnson (Oregon)
2000 Robert Kunkel (Wisconsin)
2007 Raymond J. Rought (Minnesota)
2008 Gary Ness (North Dakota)
2009 David Fulton (Texas)
2011 Jack Ferns (New Hampshire)
2013 Randall P. Burdette (Virginia)
2016 Dr. John Eagerton IV (Alabama)
2017 John Knight (Arkansas)


Each state may submit only one entry. All entries must be received by Friday, July 20, 2018.
Please send the electronic nomination to:  Tracy MacDonald
Tracy is also available to answer questions at 703-610-1274.








2016 Award Recipient ~ Dr. John Eagerton


Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More
Featured Business Partners