Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

National Award of Excellence

In 1997, NASAO established its National Award of Excellence in Aviation. It is an effort to recognize and reward individuals or groups who have contributed to the mission of NASAO by demonstrating outstanding leadership and initiative and whose contributions have significantly enhanced the field of aviation. This is the highest honor that NASAO can confer to a non-NASAO member.


Any nationally recognized individual or group not employed by the states or NASAO.

Each state and the NASAO Washington office are eligible to nominate a candidate for the honor. Also, members of the general public are encouraged to suggest potential nominees to their state aviation director. However, either a state aviation director or the Washington office must make the actual nomination.

All state directors are encouraged to submit nominations.

Previous nominees may be re-nominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • Outline the accomplishments of the nominee in not more than two (2) typewritten pages.


A selection committee made up of the NASAO Executive Committee and NASAO President will review all submissions by state aviation directors and select the award recipient. Please note that only one individual or a single cohesive group (such as an association or company) will receive the award in a calendar year. Although nominations shall be solicited each year, the award will not necessarily be conferred annually.


1997 Paul H. Poberezny
1998 Rep. James Oberstar (D-Minnesota)
1999 Rep. Bud Shuster (R-Pennsylvania)
2000 FAA Administrator Jane Garvey
2010 Jack Pelton, Cessna Aircraft Company, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer


Each state may submit only one entry. all entries must be submitted by Friday, July 20, 2018. Please send electronic nomination to Tracy MacDonald

Tracy is also available to answer questions at 703-610-1274.

Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More
Featured Business Partners