Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

National Journalism Award

During the 1997 EAA Oshkosh Convention, the National Association of State Aviation Officials Board of Directors announced the creation of its NASAO National Journalism Award. The award is designed to recognize superior news coverage of aviation issues by both the mass media and the aviation trade press. The first NASAO National Journalism Award was presented on September 9, 1997 at NASAO’s 66th Annual Meeting in Tulsa, Oklahoma. An impeccably high standard was set by granting the inaugural award to Gordon Baxter, longtime columnist for Flying magazine. The recipient will receive the award at the NASAO Annual Convention & Trade Show.

2018 Journalism Award


The NASAO National Journalism Award is open to an individual writer, editor, or producer or entire news organization such as a magazine, newspaper, radio, or television news program/network. Nominations must be made by a state aviation director or the NASAO Washington staff.

Previous nominees may be renominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee or news organization and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • An Executive Summary prepared by the person making the nomination describing the nominee’s contribution that qualifies the individual or organization for consideration.
  • Supporting documents, not to exceed 5 pages, double-spaced. Back-up material such as newspaper columns or film clips are welcomed and encouraged.


The NASAO Executive Committee shall act as the judges. Judges will be asked to rank each nominee and to consider the degree to which they have contributed to strengthening the understanding of the general public to the importance that aviation plays in our lives.


1997 Gordon Baxter, columnist, Flying magazine
2010 David and Peggy Weiman, publisher, Midwest Flyer Magazine
2011 Kim Stevens, Publisher, State Aviation Journal
2012 , Penny Rafferty Hamilton, Ph.D., Journalist and Aviation Contributor
2016 Paul Bowers, Airport Improvement Magazine







Paul Bowers, left accepts the National Journalism Award from NASAO Chairman Gary Cathey.



Each state may submit only one entry. All entries must submitted electronically and include. All entries must be received by Friday, July 20, 2018.
Please send the electronic nomination to: Tracy MacDonald
Tracy is also available to answer question at 703-610-1274.

Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More
Featured Business Partners