Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

State Aviation Distinguished Service Award

In 1989, the Board of Directors of the National Association of State Aviation Officials established the State Aviation Distinguished Service Award to honor State Aviation personnel who have excelled in their service and dedication to aviation progress and development in their state. Recognizing that the vitality and effectiveness of a state aviation agency directly reflects the quality of agency personnel, NASAO resolved to identify and honor a staff member that has performed in an exemplary manner and whose contributions will serve as an inspiration to other state aviation agency personnel. The recipient will receive the award at the NASAO Annual Convention & Trade Show.

2018 Distinguished Service Award


The State Aviation Distinguished Service Award is open to any employee of a state aviation agency, excluding the director or acting director. Nominees must have been employed by the state aviation agency during 2018.

Previous nominees may be renominated provided they still meet the eligibility requirements and their nominations are updated to include their latest achievements.


Nominations must be typed, submitted electronically and include:

  • A cover page on the presentation which should include the name, title, address and telephone number of the nominee and the name, title, address, and telephone number of the person making the nomination.
  • An Executive Summary prepared by the person making the nomination describing the nominee’s contribution that qualifies the individual for consideration.
  • A current résumé of the individual.
  • Supporting documents, not to exceed 5 pages, double-spaced. Please do not send videos, books, etc.


The NASAO Nominations Committee shall serve as the judges. Judges will be asked to rank each nominee and to consider the degree to which they: (1) have made an extraordinary contribution to the aviation community through their superior service to their state agency program; or (2) have made an outstanding contribution on either a sustained basis or through performance of a single exceptional deed or project; and/or (3) have made a contribution within their area of responsibility which can be readily adapted by other state aviation personnel to improve the quality and effectiveness of state aviation services.









Award recipient Roger Maggard, left, with John Binder.



1990 Steven R. McNeely (Virginia)
1991 Roger H. Barcus (Illinois)
1992 Kenton R. Hoeper (Minnesota)
1993 Duane E. Esse (Wisconsin)
1994 Janice Draper (Illinois)
1995 James L. Bildilli (Illinois)
1996 A. Dean Gretschmann (South Dakota)
1997 Roger L. Pfeiffer (North Dakota)
1998 Gordon Hoff (Minnesota)
1999 Paul Kramer (Illinois)
2000 Bruce F. Mundie (Maryland)
2001 Duane A. Haukebo (Minnesota) and James L. Bland (Virginia)
2002 Terrance L. Schaddel (Illinois)
2003 Kurt Haukohl (California)
2006 Daniel McDowell (Minnesota)
2007 Mark Young (Idaho)
2008 Scott Brummond (Wisconsin)
2009 Cynthia Kever (Missouri) and Karon Wiedemann (Texas)
2010 Dale Williams (Oklahoma)
2011 Mark Noel PE (Michigan)
2012 Frank Farmer (Alabama)
2013 Carol L. Aldrich, PE (Michigan)
2015 Malinda Weninger (North Dakota)
2016 Roger Maggard (Alaska)
2017 Andre Aman (Nebraska)


All entries must be received by Friday, July 20, 2018,  Please send the electronic nomination to: Tracy MacDonald

Tracy is also available to answer question at 703-610-1274.

Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More
Featured Business Partners