Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

Board of Directors

NASAO Executive Committee

Brad Brandt

NASAO Chairman
Aviation Director, Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development

Ronnie Mitchell

NASAO Vice Chairman
Director, Nebraska Department of Aeronautics

Cassandra Isackson

NASAO Treasurer
Director, Aeronautics Office of the Minnesota Department of Transportation

Mike Klein

NASAO Secretary
Manager, Aeronautics Group, Arizona Department of Transportation

Gary Cathey

NASAO Immediate Past Chairman
Division Chief, Division of Aeronautics, California Department of Transportation


NASAO Regional Directors

Tristan Head Shotedit
Tristan K. Atkins

Northwest Mountain (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming)
Director, Aviation Division, Washington State Department of Transportation

David M. Greene

Great Lakes (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin)
Director, Bureau of Aeronautics, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Amy Ludwig

Central (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska)
Administrator of Aviation, Missouri Department of Transportation

 Ashish Solanki

Eastern (Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia)
Director, Maryland Department of Transportation

 Jeff_photo1_cropped (1)
Dr. Jeffrey DeCarlo

New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont)
Administrator, Massachusetts Department of Transportation Aeronautics Division

Kurt Haukohl

Western-Pacific (Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada and Guam)
State Aviation Manager, Nevada Department of Transportation

Jerry Chism

Southwest (Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas)
Director, Arkansas Department of Aviation

Bobby Waltson

Southern (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Puerto Rico)
Aviation Director, Division of Aviation, North Carolina Department of Transportation


> Click here to access the minutes of the NASAO Board of Directors

Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More