Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

Working Group on Improving Air Service to Small Communities Announced

U.S. Department of Transportation Acting Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs Jenny T. Rosenberg announced recently the members of the new Working Group on Improving Air Service to Small Communities.  The Working Group will consist of 25 stakeholders involved in air transportation to small communities.  The group will advise Congress on current and emerging priorities, issues, and funding needs related to providing air service to small communities.

“We’re pleased to have multiple states represented on this important working group, as we advocated,” said NASAO President Mark Kimberling. “Fostering small community air service will continue to be a top priority for NASAO.”

The Working Group was created in accordance with Section 2303 of the FAA Extension, Safety, and Security Act of 2016 (Reauthorization Bill), P.L. 114-190.  The Reauthorization Bill established the Working Group and directs the Secretary of Transportation to issue a report to Congress by July 2017.  The language passed in the extension delineated that state aviation officials be represented.

The inaugural meeting of the Working Group is expected to be held next month.

  • Joshua Abramson, Airport Director, Easterwood Airport, College Station, Texas
  • Andrew Bonney, Senior Vice President of Planning, Cape Air
  • Timothy Bradshaw, Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional Airport, Roanoke, Virginia
  • Rob Burke, Manager, Air Carrier Training Systems & Voluntary Safety Programs Branch, Federal Aviation Administration
  • Bryan Dietz, Vice President, Air Service Development, Allegheny County Airport Authority
  • Jack Dokken, Program Manager, South Dakota Department of Transportation, Office of Aeronautics
  • Toby Fauver, Deputy Secretary for Multimodal Transportation, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
  • Barry Griffith, Manager/Airport Director, Northwest Alabama Regional Airport, Muscle Shoals, Alabama
  • Laurie Gill, Mayor of Pierre, South Dakota
  • Doug Kimmel, Airport Director, Veterans Airport of Southern Illinois, Marion, Illinois
  • Brian Kinsey, Assistant Director, Marketing and Business Development, St. Louis-Lambert International Airport, St. Louis, Missouri
  • Paul Lindseth, Dean of John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences, University of North Dakota
  • Stan Little, Chairman and CEO, Southern Airways Express
  • Faye Malarkey Black, President, Regional Airline Association (RAA)
  • Richard B. McQueen, President & CEO, Akron/Canton Regional Airport, Ohio
  • Russell W. Mills, Research Fellow, Center for Regional Development, Associate Professor Political Science, Bowling Green State University
  • Mike Mooney, Air Service Consultant, Sixel Consulting
  • Stephen Morrissey, Vice President. Regulatory and Policy Affairs, United Airlines
  • Patrick Murphy, former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Aviation and International Affairs, United States Department of Transportation
  • Brian Sowa, Executive Director, Rural Air Service Alliance, Inc.
  • Brian Sprenger, Airport Director, Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport, Montana
  • William S. “Bill” Swelbar, Executive Vice President, InterVISTAS Consulting
  • Sheri Taylor, Air Service Development Program Manager at Wyoming Department of Transportation Aeronautics Division
  • Mike Thompson, COO, SkyWest Airlines
  • Michael Tooley, Director, Montana Department of Transportation
Categories: News
Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More
Featured Business Partners