Our Vision: To be the nationally recognized voice for the public interest, states and territories on aviation and the national aviation system.

NASAO Elects New Officers, Regional Directors for 2018

Members of the National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO) elected new officers and regional directors for the coming year during its 86th Annual Convention and Trade Show held in Point Clear, Alabama last week.

Ronnie Mitchell, Aviation Division Director for the Nebraska Department of Transportation, was named Chairman of the NASAO Executive Board of Directors for 2017/18. Outgoing Chairman, Brad Brandt (Louisiana) will continue to serve on the Board as Immediate Past Chairman.  Also elected to the Executive Board were, Vice Chair; Cassandra Isackson (Minnesota), Treasurer, John Binder (Alaska) and Merrill Atwater (Kansas), as Secretary.

“The NASAO membership has elected an extremely capable and distinguished board — led by our Chairman Ronnie Mitchell, who brings a wealth of experience and dedication to our association in this new capacity,” said NASAO President & CEO Mark Kimberling.  “NASAO has thrived under the leadership of outgoing Chairman Brad Brandt and our entire board. I’m extremely confident that we’re well positioned to continue this positive momentum in the year ahead — and beyond.”

Mitchell has been a member of NASAO since 2009 and previously served on the board as Secretary, Treasurer and Vice Chair. In addition to the Executive Committee, Mitchell has served on the Center Board of Directors, the Land Use Committee and has served as a Regional Director.

“NASAO is in the best position legislatively and financially that it has ever been,” said Mitchell. “My thanks to outgoing Chairman, Brad Brandt, for providing outstanding leadership this past year and to the President and CEO, Mark Kimberling and his staff.” As Chairman, Mitchell said he is looking forward to the coming year and working with such a capable group of board members. “Being Chairman is an awesome responsibility which I do not take lightly,” said Mitchell. “As we work together as a team the voice of NASAO will continue to be heard advancing the interests of our members.”

Isackson, Director of Aeronautics for the Minnesota Department of Transportation, previously served as Secretary of the Board and as Chair of NASAO’s Air Service Committee.  She has been a member of NASAO since 2012.

Members elected to serve as Regional Directors for 2016/17 include Mitch Swecker (Oregon), representing the Northwest Mountain Region; David M. Greene (Wisconsin), Great Lakes Region; Amy Ludwig (Missouri), Central Region; Ashish Solanki (Maryland), Eastern Region; Dr. Jeffrey DeCarlo (Massachusetts), New England Region; Kurt Haukohl (Nevada), Western-Pacific Region; Jerry Chism (Arkansas), Southwest Region; and Bobby Walston (North Carolina), who will represent the Southern Region. The board members will each serve a one year term.

Categories: News
Whether you are a state aviation official, staff member or a Friend of NASAO, there are opportunities for you to become more involved with NASAO through participation on one of our many Committees. See a complete list of opportunities and let us know where you would like to be involved. More
NASAO is one of the most senior aviation organizations in the United States, predating even the Federal Aviation Administration’s predecessor, the Civil Aeronautics Authority. The states first established NASAO to ensure uniformity of safety measures, to standardize airport regulations and develop a truly national air transportation system responsive to local, state, and regional needs. More
NASAO holds two formal conferences each year – our Annual Convention and Trade Show, typically held in September and a Washington Legislative Conference held in the nation’s Capital during the February/March timeframe. NASAO also has a presence at EAA’s AirVenture, held each year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin in late July. Whether you are looking to attend an interesting, informative and relevant conference or would like to exhibit or sponsor an event, let us know. More
Featured Business Partners